Also of Note

Seyit Yuzuak won a “Frank and Mary Loewus Student Travel Award ” in the 54th annual meeting of The Phytochemical Society of North America held at University of Illinois, Champaign, Aug. 8-12. (8/27/15)

Congratulations to Danielle Young, recipient of the Whitford Award for academic excellence! (5/5/15)


Congratulations to Xavious Allen and Meredith Hemphill for winning Chilton Undergraduate Research Award! Xavious will work in the Franks lab and Meredith will work in the Haigler lab. (5/5/15)


Congratulations to Profs Marcela Rojas-Pierce and Paul Hamilton for being promoted to Associate Professor with tenure! (4/23/15)


Adam Fisher, a graduate student in the Sozzani lab, has been awarded an NSF Graduate Research Fellowship! Now he can concentrate entirely on his own research. Way to go, Adam! (4/1/15)


Congratulations to Stephanie Hollingsworth, recipient of a CALS Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award! Stephanie works in the Hoffmann lab. (4/1/15)


Profs. Ron Sederoff, Heike Sederoff and Dr. Richard Trethewey (BASF) will be teaching a new special topics course this fall entitled “Innovation in Agricultural Biotechnology”.  This 2-credit course is open to both graduate and undergraduate students and will meet on Thursday evenings. (3/20/15)


Andrew Pais ,a graduate student working under the guidance of Prof. Jenny Xiang, was awarded a BSA Public Policy Award from the Botanical Society of America. This will allow Andrew to travel to Capitol Hill to learn more about public funding of scientific research. Congratulations Andrew! (3/23/15)


Wendy Boss, William Neal Reynolds Distinguished Professor Emerita, has been awarded the Charles Reid Barnes Life Membership Award from the American Society of Plant Biologists. Congratulations Wendy! (3/19/15)


Congratulations to Prof. Chad Jordan, recipient of the prestigious 2014/2015 Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Professor Award! (3/9/15)

Congratulations to the winners of the 10th annual Plant Biology Graduate Student Research Symposium!
  • First Place:  Yu-Hung Hung (Tzung Fu Hsieh)
  • Second Place: Stephanie Mathews (Amy Grunden)
  • Third Place: Adam Fisher (Ross Sozzani)
  • Honorable Mention: Jiameng Zheng  (Marcela Pierce)

Congratulations to Natalie Clark, a graduate student in Prof. Sozzani’s lab, who received an NSF-funded EAPSI award to spend next summer studying and doing research in Japan!

NCSU ranked #31 in the US News and World Report for Best Global Universities for Plant and Animal Science!